The Economic Development Authority (EDA) serves as an advisory commission to the City Council, providing for the review and recommendation of all activities and projects concerning the community and economic development within the City.  The responsibilities of the Authority include, but are not limited to the following:

  • Oversee the activities of public and private agencies in Winsted with concern for their effect on the quality of the local economy; 
  • Raise issues and concerns for staff and the City Council to consider regarding community and economic development activities;
  • Consider current and proposed plans and operations of municipal activities as they affect or concern community and economic development;
  • Seek community opinion as appropriate on recommendations to improve plans and operations;
  • Monitor the condition of the local economy, and evaluate and recommend actions for improvement; and
  • Perform other duties as directed by the Council.

In addition to these general responsibilities, the EDA provides oversight over specific City programs, projects and services, such as:

  • Downtown Vibrancy Forgivable Loan Program;
  • Industrial Park Expansion Project, Phase I and Phase II;
  • New Home Construction Program; and
  • Revolving Loan Fund Program.

The EDA is dedicated to enhancing Winsted's economic vitality and expanding the city's tax and employment base. They are committed to working with everyone, whether it is an existing business in the city or relocating and joining the Winsted community.

The EDA’s professional staff and board members stand ready to offer assistance to existing and prospective businesses in site selection, area demographics, planning, workforce development, construction issues, financing, and other items.

The 7-member board is appointed by the Mayor and City Council for 6-year terms in accordance with State statutes and EDA bylaws. 



3:30 p.m.
Thursday following the second City Council of the month

Winsted City Hall - Vollmer Room
201-1st Street N.
Winsted, MN 55395


The Commission maintains a membership of five (5) voting members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council.  The City Administrator and one City Clerk-Treasurer also serve as ex-officio, non-voting members of the Commission.

Tom Ollig, Chair and Council Liaison
Jacob Schlagel, Vice Chair
Nancy Fasching
Leigha Bruns
John Stifter
Steve Ebert, Council Liaison